Top Five Books 2010

It’s almost 2011, so here’s a review of my favorite books I read this year

1.) Linchpin by Seth Godin

Seth Godin is an excellent writer, blogger, CEO, and speaker. He studies and understands the importance of being a “linchpin” in the marketplace. This book is the toughest book I’ve read to describe to others. He uses some-what abstract concepts, words, and phrases to convey his message. It seems to speak directly to the reader; and no one else.

2.) From Bondage to Liberty, Dance, Children, Dance by Jim Rayburn III

Jim Rayburn is the founder of Younglife. But he wouldn’t call himself that. Jim’s son, Jim Rayburn III, wrote the book to give a very factual, unbiased account of his dad’s life. I laughed, I cried, and was challenged immensely. The stories in this book are phenomenal. The stories are worth the read, if not for anything else.

3.) The Aladdin Factor by Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen

I’ve written about this book several times. I’ve raved, shouted from the rooftop. You must read this book. Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen are the same authors of the Chicken Soup for the Soul series. They write about the importance of asking questions. The more people I talk to who have been where I want to be ask better questions than I do. Jesus asked questions; shouldn’t you? The Aladdin Factor has changed my life.

4.) Many Communicate, Few Connect by John C. Maxwell

The reason I like this book so much is because Maxwell puts into words what I’ve been thinking since I graduated from high school. Relationships are based on connecting with others. Communicating isn’t good enough, we must connect. He parallels connecting 1-on-1 with public speaking- I really like that.

5.) Open: An Autobiography by Andre Agassi

Andre’s book is a blast to read. It’s definitely my favorite 2010 autobiography (I’ve read several.) It’s up close and personal. He’s honest, open, and he connects with the reader. He also takes the reader through a lot of his matches. He captures your emotions by writing about his romantic life, physical training, funny stories, victory speeches, attitude towards his rivals, and how much he hates tennis. I enjoyed this book the most.

-Adam-

Download this post as a pdf here
