“Too Long!” (Bo’sun gets impatient in Pirates of the Caribbean)

Image

I often use too many words when I speak. I’m affected by the same evil love as everyone else: my own voice.

But a well-chosen word can say more than 20 empty ones.

That guy talked the whole conversation but never said anything.

I bet the best communicator you know uses the least amount of words possible.

instead of

Something I’ve learned about myself and just about everyone else is that I love my own voice. It’s not good. I use way too many words when I describe something, give an explanation, or just carry on a normal conversation.

But choosing your words carefully and thoughtfully can replace the twenty words you don’t think through but just say off the top of your head.

That guy talked the whole conversation but never said anything.

If you know someone who is really good at explaining a topic, can communicate extremely well, or you enjoy hearing him/her speak, then they probably don’t use a lot of words when they talk.

-A

Download this post as a pdf here
