Leading

While observing a group of elementary kids playing soccer I watched a dispute break out. The younger kids were mad at the oldest, most athletic, and most influential kid on the team. He was clearly the leader.

They accused him of being a ball hog. His response, “I wanted the ball and since I’m the captain I took it” didn’t go well with the other kids.

If that’s your idea of leadership then you have it wrong. Leadership is earned, not taken. Leadership enables you to give to others- not take the ball whenever you want it.

Leadership is hard. I’m very weak at leading. The good news for me is that it can be learned and developed which means anyone can become a strong leader. But the first step is to identify who you want to lead and then determine how you will help them grow.

Download Leading PDF

