Praying more is ok

Don’t confuse a disciplined prayer life with self-righteousness. One is Godly and the other’s not.

I encounter people all the time who are afraid to pray a lot because they fear becoming self-righteous. Or I hear, “I don’t have to read my Bible much to be a Christian. God loves me anyway.” You’re right, He does. But do you love him? God knows you perfectly already but how well do you know Him? (Col 3:16)

Since Jesus loved God he often left the crowds to pray by himself (Luke 5:16). And Jesus wasn’t self-righteous (2 Cor 5:21). As the Church, let’s do a better job modeling Jesus by praying and seeking God’s face instead of being afraid (or lazy).

“Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus…let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith.” (Hebrews 10:19 & 22)

