Mistakes (Part 1)

In my previous post I told you I would share the mistakes I made in regards to dating. Here they are.

I allowed the world to determine what my physical boundaries were. The Bible is so clear (much clearer than most people think) about lust but I paid too much attention to my friends and not enough to God. I knew the scriptures about lust and selfishness but I ignored them. I let things become more important to me than God. If I use the “Let Jesus take the wheel” metaphor, Jesus was my mechanic. Whenever things got really bad I would call roadside assistance and He’d show up.

I was filled with pride & self-righteousness (I still am but now I’m aware of it). I hid behind my reputation as a good church kid but I was actually dead inside. I wanted my relationship with God to grow but I was hampered with sin and rebellion.

Marriage wasn’t my purpose- wasn’t even on the radar. I was so focused on here and now.

The level of my selfishness was off the charts. I was me-focused and not willing to serve or sacrifice.

I lacked desire to obey the Bible and didn’t try to cultivate any desire either. In other words, if I had had grasped that God’s will for me was so much better than what I had in mind, I would have had a very different approach to dating. In the words of C.S. Lewis, “We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” (C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory)

Instead of God shaping my view of dating I used dating to shape my view of God. God is The Redeemer (Gal. 3:13) and the perfecter of our faith (Heb. 12:2). He delights to show mercy! (Micah 7:18) God’s purpose for dating is to reveal Himself to us. In my next post I will share more about how God can use dating for redemptive purposes and more specifics about me.

